President disqualifies 20 AAP MLAs

President disqualifies 20 AAP MLAs

President disqualifies 20 AAP MLAs

"And the poll panel only sent its recommendations to disqualify the 20 AAP MLAs to the President on January 19", he said, asking what had transpired between the BJP, AAP and the EC in this period.

In AAP's case, they made the appointments in March 2015 and later sought to exempt them by amending the Delhi Members of Legislative Assembly (Removal of Disqualification) Act, 1997 in 2016.

Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) on Sunday termed disqualification of 20 Aam Aadmi Party (AAP) MLAs as correct and asserted that misuse of power will not be entertained. The new development incited a war of words between leaders of Aam Aadmi Party and the opposition parties.

Delhi chief minister and AAP national convenor Arvind Kejriwal tweeted on Sunday: "There was some logic when God gave us 67 seats".

Singh added that the letter of appointment given to the AAP MLAs when they became parliamentary secretaries did not mention that it was an office of profit. A petition was filed demanding disqualification of these MLAs for holding office of profit.

Couple plead not guilty to torture of children
Hestrin said the children suffered "severe caloric malnourishment", were denied basic hygiene and medical care and were beaten. Despite her age, deputies at first believed her to be around 10 years old because of she was emaciated and malnourished.

Dozens killed in Kazakhstan bus crash
A picture provided by the Kazakh emergency situations ministry shows the burning bus on a road in the Aktobe region. Footage of the fire showed black smoke and flames billowing from the vehicle that was completely charred.

Afghan Taliban delegation meets with Pakistani officials
President Donald Trump announced his strategy for ending the almost two-decade-long war in Afghanistan. The Security Council will hold a high-level debate on the situation in Afghanistan Friday.

The AAP on Friday had said the recommendation was based on false allegations, alleging that the "BJP through its agents seriously compromises the prestige of the EC just to divert the attention of the nation from its all round failures". The Election Commission believes that 20 legislators come under the purview of "Office of profit". On Friday, the court had refused to pass any interim order of protection to AAP MLAs from being disqualified. She said the election commission is working on its own.

The 20 MLAs set to be disqualified include, Adarsh Shastri (Dwarka), Alka Lamba (Chandni Chowk), Anil Bajpai (Gandhi Nagar), Avtar Singh (Kalkaji), Kailash Gahlot (Najafgarh) - who is also a minister - Madan Lal (Kasturba Nagar), Manoj Kumar (Kondli), Naresh Yadav (Mehrauli), Nitin Tyagi (Laxmi Nagar), Praveen Kumar (Jangpura).

The AAP said it would move the high court and Supreme Court if necessary.

The proceedings against Jarnail Singh were dropped after he resigned as the Rajouri Garden MLA to contest the Punjab Assembly polls.

The disqualification will not put into jeopardy Kejriwal's government because of its huge majority in the Delhi assembly.

Related news

[an error occurred while processing the directive]